JO stalwarts Welgama and Aluthgamage removed

Former President and former Sri Lanka Freedom Party Chairperson, Chandrika Bandaranaike Kumaratunga was appointed the Party’s Organizer for the Attanagalla seat. Incumbent President and current Chairman of the Party Maithripala Sirisena whilst making the aforementioned appointment this week also removed Joint Opposition stalwarts, MPs Kumara Welgama and Mahindananda Aluthgamage, from the electorate Organizer posts of the Party from Mathugama (in the Kalutara District) and Nawalapitiya (in the Kandy District), respectively. The duo has consistently backed former President and former Party Chairman, MP Mahinda Rajapaksa while Kumaratunga backed Sirisena’s ascent to power.