Jayantha Fernando is an Internet Law and policy expert who has pioneered ICT Legal policy reform and helped the establishment of Internet governance processes in Sri Lanka.
He was recently recognized with a Lifetime Award at the inaugural SLT Zero One Awards, along with Prof Abhaya Induruwa (Internet Pioneer) and Kris Canekeratne of Virtusa, at a ceremony held in Colombo.
He is the Chairman of the .LK Domain Registry and serves as Director/ Legal advisor at the ICT Agency of Sri Lanka and also serves on the board of several entities. He also Co-chairs the Task Force for the National Certification Authority in Sri Lanka in addition to the work he does with ISP’s and Banks to address Cyber Security policy issues with the country’s CERT-Coordination Centre.
The event was organized by Sri Lanka Telecom (SLT), with the objective of recognizing, honoring and encouraging excellence in digital initiatives in Sri Lanka, with the Lifetime Awards being presented to professionals who had made significant contributions to the country’s digital industry.
Commenting on this achievement, Fernando said, “I am truly honoured to receive this Lifetime Award at the SLT Zero One Awards. I see this initiative as a timely effort in boosting digital transformation in the country. Over the past two decades several key stakeholders, including Central Bank of Sri Lanka, Ministry of Justice, Legal Draftsman’s Dept and Attorney General’s Dept helped and supported our legal reform initiatives to overcome legal challenges. The pioneering work started at the CINTEC Law Committee continued as the e-Laws component of the e-Sri Lanka Development Program of ICTA”.
Whilst paying special tribute to Late Hon. Justice Mark Fernando, PC and Late Prof V. K. Samaranayake, Mr Fernando expressed his gratitude to the founders of ICTA, all Chairmen, CEOs, former Leadership Team colleagues as well as key stakeholders of the e-Sri Lanka program and thanked the organisers of the event for “helping to recognizes all our key stakeholders and the committed staff of ICTA through this award”.