Veteran banker Rajendra Theagarajah was appointed as the new Chairman of the Ceylon Chamber of Commerce during its 178thAGM held at the Cinnamon Grand Hotel, Colombo on the June 29, 2017.

Theagarajah, a veteran banker of over 30 years of experience in the banking sector, succeeds the outgoing Chairman Samantha Ranatunga, who led the Chamber during the past two years. He functioned as the Vice Chairman, Deputy Vice Chairman, Board Member and also served as a member of the Chamber Committee for several years.

Theagarajah is currently the Joint deputy Chairman of Cargills Bank Limited, the banking arm of the Cargills group.

He was served as Director / Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of National Development Bank PLC (NDB) from August 2013 till November 30, 2016. Prior to that, he served as CEO/ Managing Director at Hatton National Bank PLC for 9 years.