Political sources last week revealed that the majority of politicians with dual citizenships hailed from the Northern and Eastern Provinces.

The politicians include six Parliamentarians who are from the two provinces. According to sources the majority of the said politicians are representatives of Tamil political parties.

Accordingly, the countries where they possess citizenship include, Britain, Canada, the United States of America, Switzerland, Germany.

In most cases, the families of the said politicians are domiciled in the countries mentioned above.

Meanwhile, Joint Opposition Parliamentarian, Udaya Gammanpila filed a Right to Information (RTI) application with the Department of Immigration and Emigration seeking a report on the citizenship statuses of the 225 MPs in Parliament. Gammanpila further noted that he would consider taking legal action if he did not receive the report containing the said information.