Internet Governance is a key discussion in today’s world of information. In 2005, the UN-sponsored ‘World Summit on the Information Society’ defined Internet governance as “the development and application by Governments, The Private Sector and Civil Society, in their respective roles, of shared principles, norms, rules, decision-making procedures, and programmes that shape the evolution and use of the Internet.”

Internet governance deals with the development of shared principles, policies and programmes that shape the use and evolution of the Internet. In the global, multi-stakeholder Internet Governance model, the Internet is seen as a borderless resource belonging to no single entity. Instead, it is managed by a global community of governments, corporations, technologists, academics, civil society and individual end users.

Sri Lanka conducted its first ever IGF in March 8, 2016. The Programme was highly commended locally and internationally since it has been organized and conducted in accordance with the core values of IGF which are: Open, Transparent, Inclusive, Multi-Stakeholder participation, bottom up and non-commercial.

The ISoCSL (Internet Society of Sri Lanka) has the pleasure in announcing the IGF Sri Lanka 2017 – the Second National IGF from has been scheduled for 16th to 18th May 2017 at the BMICH.

This year’s main topic would be “Cyber Security and Safer Internet” along with the subtopics “SDGs and Internet” and “Digital Rights and Multistakeholderism in Sri Lanka”.
A range of multistakeholders including the regional technology experts, businessmen, government officials, students will share their insights on global Internet Governance issues, from a Sri Lankan perspective, at the upcoming forum.Speakers at the forum will deliver interactive presentations and answer questions about Internet Governance from the audience.

The Minister of Telecommunication and Digital Infrastructure Harin Fernando  would be gracing the occasion as the Chief Guest for the Inaugural Session while Wasantha Deshapriya, Secretary to the Ministry of Telecommunication and Digital Infrastructure, will be the Guest of Honour.