An entity called the Ceylon Karters became the first Sri Lankan team to win an international karting endurance championship in the Clubmen series at the Al Ain International Karting Circuit in the UAE on April 22. The team comprised of professional karting and race car drivers Ashan Silva, Ayesh Bandara, Charith Gunawardena and Praveen Weerasinghe. The championship included four endurance races. Ceylon Karters won the championship in style with four podium finishes made up of two first places, a second place and a third place. The team is presently on the lookout for sponsors for their future endeavours