Trinity College celebrate winning the Canon RS De Saram Shield

Rugby at Trinity had its birth in 1906. However, they were not the first to take to the game. First was Kingswood, when they were known as Boys High School, and the first inter-school match ever played in the country was  between Trinity and Kingswood in 1906. In1920, Royal came into the game, followed by Zahira in 1924 and St. Peter’s in 1933.  These were the only four schools that played rugger in those days. Today, there are many schools in the game,   particularly in Colombo and Kandy.

This season in the first round, Trinity had an extremely successful season finishing first in their group, winning all the matches they played.  Trinity College has a long and successful tradition of playing rugby and continues to perform at the highest level. Rugby is a part of this college. This year in Kandy, every fan acknowledges that a team to cause ripples in this season’s schools rugby is undoubtedly Trinity College. They have an exclusive exciting reputation for creating good things in the rugby field. With their bustling brand of rugby and also maintaining discipline and being dedicated to the game. So, the boys from the hills in the first round rugby with their never-say-die attitude together with their traditional match-winning mood, will take the field in the second round on April 29, hoping to lay their hands on the title. They play in the Division I Segment “B”, and have beaten all the schools they met and downed Wesley 64/24, Science 52/7,  Zahira 34/26, S. Thomas 29/14 and Prince of Wales 94/9.  They have scored 44 tries, 25 conversations, 1 penalty kick at goal, which gives them 273 points in five games against 80 points. So, they are blessed able to retain the same match winning combination. They are expected to play their first second round game on 29th , still the opponents not known because there are few more matches to be completed the first round.

For Trinitians, rugby has been a way of life. Rugby transcends individual virtuosity into team spirit which is the dire need today in all walks of life in Sri Lanka. Trinity has produced a vast number of players who have donned the national jersey. Those Trinitians who have represented Sri Lanka are far too numerous to mention. Some of the Trinitians who brought honour and fame to their Alma – mater were Bertie Dias, Senarath Pilapitiya, Kavan Rambukwella, Dharmasiri Madugalle, Malcolm Wright, Ken de Joodt, Mike de Alwis, Nimal Maralande, Sari de Sylva, Dr. Tony de Sylva, Denzil Kobbekaduwa, YC Chang, Gamini Fernando, Jayantissa Ratwatte, Mohan Sahayam, Noel Brohier, Ajith Abeyaratne, Gogi Tillakartne, Gamini Udugama, Jupana Jayawardena, Uvais Odayar, Mohan Balasuriya, Palitha Sam Samarasekara, Clifford Elhart, Mark Sundaralingam, Glen Vanlangenberg, Roy Balasuriya, Shafi Jainudeen, Iswan Omar, Mohan Samarakoon, Sunil Wickremasinghe, Jayantha Jayawardene, Saliya Udugama, Irwin Howie, Dilip Kumar, Tikiri Marambe, Jeffrey Yu, Y.S. Ping, Hanzil Samad, Harindra Gunasekara, Rohan Sourjah, Ashan Ratwatte, Sen U Suan,  C.Y., Ching  snr. and jnr.,  Shah Dole, Inthi Marikar, Ikram Odayar, Duminda de Silva, Ayaz Deen, Reza Odayar, Ravi Balasuriya, Lohan Ratwatte, Janaka Kiridene, Harris Omar, Suranga Amarasinghe, Pradeep Basnayake,  Himes Gunatilake, Kumar Dias Desinghe, Amil Ramanathan, Nalin Muhandirmange,  Eraj Rajapakse,  M. Zarook,   Saliya Kumara, Kavinda Jayasena, Tisal Jayawardene , Sean Wijesinghe. It is hoped that it will continue to be so to greater benefits of the citizens of this country. So, this year Trinity’s main ambitions will be to win the league and the Bradby Shield.  The first leg is on May 20 at the Pallekele Rugby Grounds, Kandy and the 2nd leg on June 3 in Colombo.

The squad : Nathan Yee (Captain)  Anuk Boyagoda (V. Captain),  Risen Madena, Lashan Wijesuriya,Diluksha Dange, Keshava Palayangoda, Rashen Bandaranayake, Shaveen Ekanayake, Aveesha Piyankara, Pasan  Samarawickreme, A.Y.Chai Sheik, Hasiru Weliwatta, Kanesha Alwsi, Naveen Rajaratnam, Mohamed Ikram, Mahadahio Abdullah, Akitha Sakalasuriya, Shanel Maralande, Pravinda Wijethilake, Amith Kulathunge, Joshua Peter, Vishwa Ranaraja, Avishka Navarthne,Bevishan Wijewickrema, Mohamed Shoaib, Neranjan Witharqane, Gauraya Senavirthne, Woran Weerakoon, Janiodu Rathanyake, Dandu Heaarth, Nimehs Ekanayake, Reshan Bandaranayake. Coach – Lote Raikabula, Assistant Coach Buddika Abeyasinghe, MIC Sahan Vajirasena  Rugby Manager Manoj Jayatissa and POG Shane de Silva.

Lote Raikabula (Coach) | Nathan Yee (Captain)
Lote Raikabula (Coach) | Nathan Yee (Captain)