St. Anthony’s Convent led by Sanduni Weerasinghe beat Nugawela Central Girls’ in their inaugural big match, which was played at the Pallekele International Stadium, recently.

Nugawella Girls’ taking the first turn were able to score 97 for 8 in their allocated 30 overs. Main contributers- Lakmali Rajapakse 42, Madara Samarakoon 14 and Subani Rajapakse bowled well to take 3 for 19.   Katugastota Girls in reply scored 98 runs for 9 in 29.1 overs. Shine Dayarthna 21, Nethmi Malshani 13, Madara Samrakoon 4 for 16 and Vimansha Mahawatta 3 for 14. The winners were awarded the Sarath Ekanayake Trophywhich was presented by himself. Sarath Ekanayake is the president of the Kandy District Cricket Association and the Chief Minister of the Central Province.