Two   well-matched rugby teams, Kingswood  College and  Wesley College  will play their annual LE Blaze Trophy rugby match at  Bogambara  Stadium on Saturday April 22 . Last year, Welsey gave their best display to win the trophy. In 2014 and 15 it was Kignswood who won.  So this time who  is going to  beat whom? This encounter started in 1986, and the trophy was donated by the late  Roy de Silva, who was a  prominent  Kingswoodian  and  one time  NOC Chiarman.  The first L.E. Blaze Trophy game was played on   July 17, 1986.  Kingswood College led  by Ronnie Ibrahim  beat Wesley  led by Sumedha Kuruppu.  But   sad to say  after the  2005  unruly incident, this match was not played,   and it was  once again  back for one leg, Kingswood has won on 20 occasions and Wesley 6.

So, a game of top class rugby is expected, and these two schools are sure to produce a rib-brusing rugby.  So, in this game both sides will battle of possession  and will indeed be a vital one for both sides who will be needing plenty of clean ball to play thei4r brand of open rugby.  What Kingswoodians will need, today,  is a well-engineered and clear cut victory to take away  the bitter taste of their defeat they had last year.  Wesley XV who are in good form are capable of pulling this game in their favour.

This game has all the makings of a hot contest and should draw a big crowd, Wesley led by   Denister Goonethilake will expect a lot from   Vimu Gamage, Ahamed Zaki,  Imesh Aponsu,  Shamail Amit,  Shashika Ashan,  Avishka Jayaweera,  Avantha Lee. The side is coached by Jivan Goonathilake  who is the head coach,    Danushka Botheju forwards coach  and  Mohamed Sheriff backs coach.  Kingswoodians, whose team detrails are limited are led by Heshan Janson, and the two players who have given their best are Lakshitha Ranaweera and S. Weligampola.  Dinesh Gamage is the coach and the trainier is  Indunil Wickramasinghe who is in charge of the training aspect of the team.