St. Sylvesters’ College has produced  some of the best boxers in this country has ever seen. The College  presented its inter-house boxing meet after  many years , recognizing the former legends who has done yeoman services to St. Sylvester’s’ College boxing, thanks to former champion Nimal Leweke a  retired DIG who gave a big hand to come out with this meet. A main architect of boxing achievement is the late Derrick Raymond. His brother Jenn Raymond coached before him and he ,too, produced brilliant boxers like Donald Labroy, but Derrick during his time in the  1960s,he  helped  Sylvesters’ to win  the Stubb Shield 8 times out of 12. Out of the boxers he produced, including Donald Labroy , Lloyd Hope and Malcolm Bulner who can be rated as the best boxers.

At this year’s inter-house meet, they honoured the contribution made by the late Derrick Raymond. Champion House was given Derrick Raymond Memorial Trophy and Best boxer was given Malcolm  Bulner Trophy. Junior Best Boxer was given Derrick Gunasinghe Memorial Trophy, and up-and-coming boxer was given Nimal Lewke Trophy. Derrick Gunasinghe also contributed a lot as a boxer and as coach. It was the real hard work of the 2006 batch who organized this meet with the help of the principal Nimal Lewke who donated two of the above trophies Derrick Raymond Trophy and Malcolm Bulner Trophy.

The special award winners
Junior Best Boxer ( Malcolm Bulner Trophy ) SSP Angelo (Tissa), Junior Best Loser PDKulasekara (Parakrama) , Senior Best Boxer ( Derrick Gunasinghe Memorial Trophy ) SSB Kapukotuwa (Tissa),  Senior Best Loser AGDDJayasinghe  (Vijeya),   Best Up-and-Coming Boxer ( Nimal Lewke Trophy ),  MM Paris (Vijeya),  Champion House ( Derek Raymond Memorial Trophy )
Joint champions
Parakrama House  and Tissa House.