With “A” division rugby no more in the plantation sector, 13 teams from plantation companies will compete in  the annual  Inter-Plantation Rugby 7s on Saturday April 8, organized  by the Dickoya MCC   at the Darawella Grounds. This plantation sevens was earlier hosted by the Up-Country’s first Clifford cup champions  Dimbulla  A & CC since 1997  at  Radella, it was from   2005 Dickoya MCC took over.

Dickoya MCC was founded in 1874, and they were a major force in the game of rugby and entered the Clifford Cup finals twice – first in 1958 when they went down to CR & FC and in 1961 they lost to Havelock  SC.

So, this plantation sevens, is the only rugby at this club today,  for this event  the organizing committee is headed by the  Dickoya MCC president  Arujun Perera  and backed by   R.M. Samarakoon Secretary,  K.G. Samaratunga Treasurer and the rest of the committee members.

The defending champion is   Malwatte Valley Plantation and this time the plantation  teams who will play are  Bogawantalwa   the  tournaments runners-up at the last year’s event,  the rest are   Kelani Valley , Talawakelle , Maturata, Pussellawa, Maskeliya , Watawala , Kotagala , Elpitiya , Hapugastenna, Udapussella  and Horana .