The first round of the highly competitive BGRC Karting Championship 2017 was held at the Sri Lanka Karting Circuit (SLKC) in Bandaragama recently.

The highly-anticipated invitation event was organized by the Bandaragama Go-kart Racing Club
The race-day saw young stars competing for honours  under seven categories, namely Class Novices A, B and C, Ladies Open, Class Senior D, E and F.

Anish Ryan Ranasinghe grabbed honours in the first event of the day, the Novices ‘A’ class, and Avishka Premadasa and Linal Goonetilleke also reached the podium, placed second and third respectively.

The Novices Class ‘B’ event saw Harendra Karunaratne on top of the podium after a tense battle. Chavindu Lavan Kodagoda and Asanka Rathnapriya Soysa came second and third respectively.
Novices Class ‘C’ saw Shehan Charith de Alwis cruising towards the victory while Heshan Lasith Kulatunga settled in for a second place and  Roncalli Kanishka Rambukwella came third.

Ashvitha Wickrama enjoyed victories in two events during the first leg of the championship.

First, she maneuvered herself   in an impressive manner to win the Class Senior ‘D’ category ahead of Saurika Livindu and Vinusha Sanjula Periyapperuma who finished second and third, respectively. Later, in the Ladies’ Open, Ashvitha took total control of the race to cruise to victory ahead of Maryse Navaratne and Sahandee Meegama who booked the remaining two spots on the podium.

Shayamal Mendis won the Senior’E’ Class race while Angelo Senaratne and Shakthi Anuradha Gunasekara finished second and third respectively.

Later, Ranjaya Dissanayake proved to be too fast for seasoned campaigners Bhagya Senaratne and Ryan de Bruin who finished second and third respectively in the Senior Class F.

Podium winners
Class Novices A
1: Anish Ryan Ranasinghe
2: Avishka Premadasa
3: Linal Goonetilleke
Class Novices B
1: Harendra Karunaratne
2: Chavindu Lavan Kodagoda
3: Asanka Rathnapriya Soysa
Class Novices C
1: Shehan Charith de Alwis
2: Heshan Lasith Kulatunga
3: Roncalli Kanishka Rambukwella
Class Senior D
1: Ashvitha Wickrama
2: Saurika Livindu
3: Vinusha Sanjula Periyapperuma
Class Senior E
1: Shyamal Mendis
2: Angelo Senaratne
3: Shakthi Anuradha Gunasekara
Class Senior F
1: Ranjaya Dissanayake
2: Bhagya Senaratne
3: Ryan de Bruin
Ladies’ Open
1: Ashvitha Wickrama
2: Maryse Navaratne
3: Sahandee Meegama