Seated: (From left) Rohan Dissanayake (Coach), MAM Riaz (Senior Games Master ), Pasindu Charuka (Captain), BA Abeyratne (Principal), Manjitha De Silva (Vice captain),Athula Senanayake (Master-in-Charge), Sajad Irshad (Secretary) Standing: 1st row ( From left) Abdullah Saabir, Ravindu Ranasinghe, Nadun Wijayawardena, Vidura De Alwis, Himesh Koralage, Navod Gunarathne, Sachithra Malshan Standing: 2nd row (From left) Uvindu Sharika, Santhush Silva, Dilan Kavinda, Himesha Hettige, Dinuka Edirisinghe, Uchitha Wasudeva

Undisputed National Schools champion team from Royal College will be on a tour to Canberra, Australia from March 23 to April 1, as per an invitation received from Australian Hockey ACT via the Sri Lankan High Commission in Canberra. The U-18 team in 2016 after a highly competitive tournament at the astro hockey turf went on to win the gold medal and proved its supremacy in the field of hockey.

The history of this team goes to 2008, and these lads have been playing for more than a decade beginning from U-9. A few achievements brought back from history would be U-9 and U-11 Colombo schools champions, U-13 and U-15 Colombo schools runners up. In the annual encounters of Royal College played against 4 popular schools, this team went on to retain all 4 trophies against Wesley College (Dudley KG De Silva Memorial Shield), Kingswood College(Lennie De Silva Memorial Trophy), Trinity College(JCA Corea Memorial Trophy) and against arch rivals S. Thomas’ College (Orville Abeynaike Trophy).