In the inaugural University hockey sixes organized by the Rajarata University and played at their ground, the men’s event went in favour of Rajarata while the Women’s even was won by Sabaragamuwa. The tournament attracted 23 teams; 16 for the men’s competition and 7 for the women’s segment. A big hand should go to Channa Ranasinghe of Rararata University for organizing the tournament well.

The men’s tournament was won by Rajarata “A” who beat Ruhunu A 1/0 . The winning goal was scored by H.M.B.V.B. Hearth.

The most outstanding player in the Men’s segment went to W.G.A.P. Welagedera of Rajarata. In the women’s segment it was won by Sapuni Guruge of Sabaragamuwa.  Best award for the best defender in the men’s segment went to J.M.d.H. Jayasundra of Ruhuna. In the women’s  segment this award was won by Kalip Jayatissa of Moratuwa. The Best Goal Keeper  award in the men’s  segment went to S.S.M.K.B. Alawahura of Rajarata.