Dinesh Jayawardene who set a new course record at the Elikande Hill Climb receives the Trophy from Ashhar Hameem president of SMSC

Dinesh Jayawardena stole the limelight at the 20th Eliyakanda Hill Climb, setting a new course record of 32.65 seconds for the 675- metre distance driving his Mitsubishi in the Group SL-GT up to 3500cc event.

He also came up with another dazzling drive in the Ford Formula, clocking a time 37.32 seconds for the event. These two wins gave him the two major trophies on offer at the meet.

Meanwhile, in the two-wheel category, it was Sachira Rajakaruna who was declared the fastest rider for the day when he clocked 35.33 seconds. He completed this course on a Yamaha YZ 250cc. There were many family members in action fighting for honours as Kushan Pieris challenged his father Dhammika Pieris in the SL-H SLAS Cars up to 1618cc One Make Honda event and finished the course before his father to win the event with a time of 36.65 seconds.

His closest rival was Susantha Genewardena.

The driver from Matara, young Rajitha Uluwita too came up with classy performances to record two wins while Udara Palliyaguru and his son Dulipa too did well to reach the podium. The father and son from Wattala, Susantha Gunawardena and his son Shenal did well in an event competed by them that put the son ahead of the father.

The post prolific rider and national champion on high-powered two-wheelers Maduranga Caldera also had a fine day clocking 37.48 riding a 600cc bike to win an event.

Veteran drivers in the calibre of Formula record holder Rohan de Silva, Mini expert Jeffrey Mason and another Mini driver Mahen Madugalla were also in action.

Over 200 participants contested the event.

Motorcycles (Winners only)
Standard Motor Cycles over 100cc up to 125cc – 4T
Sanjeewa Udaya Kumara (42.51 secs)
Standard Motor Cycles over 125cc up to 160cc–4T
Pathirage Nikila (39.62)
Standard Modified Motor Cycles over 100cc up to 125cc
Shane Mark de Silva (40.55)
Over 175cc up to 250cc – 4T 4CY
Madura Pieris (37.62)
Supper SM over 100cc up to 125cc (2T) and over 175cc up to 250cc (4T)
Sachira Rajakaruna (Fastest Rider) (34.58)
Modified up to 600cc 4T
Maduranga Caldera (37.48)
Street Trail over 175cc up to 250cc – 4T
Ishan Edirisinghe (38.83)
Super Motard over 125cc up to 500cc – 2T and over 250cc up to 750cc – 4T
Sachira Rajakaruna (35.33)
Modified Street Trails over 175cc up to 250cc 2T
S. Wasudewan (40.066)
Over 900cc up to 1000cc – 4T
Pramuka Sesath (36.19)
Sport Touring Motor Cycles over 700cc
Pathirage Mangala (39.44)
One Make Series (Club Event)
A.H. Illeperuma (41.78)
FORD Laser/ Mazda 232 up to 1300cc
Rajith Uluwita (39.77)
Mini Saloon 1275cc
Chanaka Ratnayake (39.85)
Nissan March 1000cc
Chamika Ranathunga (41.54)
Ford Laser / Mazda 323 up to 1500cc
Rajith Uluwita (40.26)
Formula Cars – Maclarans Special 1665cc Modified
Nadeera Jinasena (36.13)
Modified Cars up to 1050cc
Yasith Gamage (38.96)
Modified Cars One Make Mini 7
K. Parameshwaram (42.48)
Specials up to 1500cc
Zaakir Wahab (36.16)
Specials up to 1350cc
Prasanna de Alwis (42.97)
Homologated Cars up to 1618cc One Make Honda
Kushan Pieris (36.25)
Diesel Cars up to 2000cc non-turbo
Prasanna De Alwis (44.59)
T & J ‘Open’ (Turbo / non Turbo)
Cassim Wahab (47.95)
Ford Formula 1600cc (Best Timing for the day)
Dinesh Jayawardena (37.23)
SL-GT up to 3500cc (Best Timing for the day)
Dinesh Jayawardena (32.65)
Fastest Time of the Day – Cars
Dinesh Jayawardena (32.65)
Fastest Time for Motor Bikes
Sachira Rajakaruna (35.33)
Overall Best time for the day
Dinesh Jayawardena (32.65)