The Presidential Task Force on Drug Prevention as part of its targets for the year commenced the establishment of grassroots level village drug prevention committees in over 14,700 villages island-wide.

Elsewhere, the Government has issued a circular to the Ministry of Education to implement the sustainable schools programme in districts island-wide in 3022 schools. The said programme was launched on January 19 in Kundasale in the Kandy District from the Kengalla Maha Vidyalaya.

Director of the Task Force, Dr. Samantha Kumara Kithalawaarachchi explained that the topics that would be addressed under the programme in the schools would involve aspects of drug prevention, environmental protection, promotion of toxin-free local food and child protection.

“The village drug prevention committees have been established in 82 villages at the Kundasale Divisional secretariat level. The same has been completed in Kalutara. In the 25 district secretariat levels, there are over 300 divisional secretariats,” he further added.

Meanwhile, Colombo Chief Magistrate Lal Bandara on January 18 ordered the case pertaining to the confiscation of a consignment of cocaine (928 kilograms) from a ship from Ecuador which arrived at the Colombo port on December 8, 2016 to be put off until Police Narcotics Bureau investigations are concluded and the suspects taken into custody and produced before Court.