The stars of today and yesteryear from the silver screen will converge once again on stage for the 14th edition of Ridee Reyak, a musical extravaganza sponsored by Dialog Axiata PLC that will come live with glamour, music and dance from 7.00 pm at the Nelum Pokuna on December 18, 2016.

Ridee Reyak over the years has grown in repute as one of the most glamorous events on the local entertainment scene and the programme is showcased by the Cine Star Foundation for the 14th time to raise funds to support over 300 local cinema artistes.
Ridee Reyak, annually provides a medical and life insurance cover plus a monthly assistance package to needy yester-year artistes to the value of Rs. 5.5 million.

Sri Lanka’s proud cinema industry which was first captured on reel in 1947 with Kadawuna Poronduwa (Broken Promise) directed by Jyothish Singhe and produced by Chitrakala Movietone Limited paved the way for a career in cinema for stars such as Rukmani Devi, Edie Jayamanne, Gemini Kantha, Peter Peiris, Miriam Jayamanne and BAW Jayamanne who are still in the hearts and minds of all cinema goers.

Honouring this long-standing tradition in Sinhala cinema, ‘Ridee Reyak 2016’ which will be going live will feature a bevy of stars who will sing and dance to popular hits from today and yesteryear.

These include the likes of Ravindra Randeniya, Malani Fonseka, Roy de Silva, Sriyani Amarasena, Cleetus Mendis, Veena Jayakody, Jeewan Kumaranatunga, Sriyantha Mendis, Sabeetha Perera, Hemal Ranasinghe, Sangeetha Weeraratne, Channa Perera, Yashodha Wimaladharma, Bandu Samarasinghe, Tennyson Cooray, Suraj Mapa, Pubudu Chaturanga, Roshan Ranawana, Wasantha Kumarawila, Chilie Thilanka, Vishwa Kodikara, Sachini Ayendra, Dinakshi Priyasad, Anusha Damayanthi, Shalani Tharaka, Saranga Disasekara, Chathurika Peiris, Gayan Wickramathilaka, Roshan Pilapitiya and many more.

The Channa-Upuli dance troupe like in the previous 13 editions of Ridee Reyak, will once again light up the stage this year and will also perform a special act to felicitate and honour yesteryear’s nightingale of Sri Lanka, the late Rukmani Devi.

Veteran artistes such as Sumana Amarasinghe, Neeta Fernando, Geetha Kumarasinghe, Janaki and Menik Kurukulasooriya have also lined up for the Rukmani Devi felicitation segment.

Tickets are available at Sadeepa Borella, Sarasavi Nugegoda and Salaka Maharagama, Kiribathgoda and Union Place. Tickets can also be purchased at the Cine Star head office at the Nawaloka Hospital.