Sri Lanka’s national football team flew to Malaysia on October 31 to participate in the first ever AFC Solidarity Cup football tournament that began on November 2 in Kuching.

The team will be sponsored exclusively by Cargills (Ceylon) Limited that should encourage them to perform at their best level.

The team is led by Sujan Perera who is playing professional football with Eagles SC in the Maldives and should be an inspiration to the team.

The team did not do too well in the friendly fixture against Cambodia going down 4-nil and it is hoped that they have learnt from the positives and perform well.

Anura de Silva, president of the Football Federation of Sri Lanka (FFSL) said that this is a good opportunity for them to display their strength in the region. They have found valuable partner in Cargills who will be expecting good results in this tournament.

Sri Lanka played their first game on November 3 and will play against Mongolia today and against Macau on November 9. The knock-out stage will begin on November 12 and the finals will be played on November 15.

Sri Lanka has been drawn into group B with Macau, Mongolia and Losing team of PO 2.1. Group A consists of Nepal, Brunei DS, Losing team of PO 2.3 and losing team of PO 2.2. (TBR)

The squad:
Sujan Perera (captain), Nipuna Bandara (v-captain), M.C.M. Rifnas, Chalana Chameera, Amith Kumara, Zarwan Johar, Prabath Ruwan, Asikur Rahuman, E.A. Chathuranga, Lakshitha Jayathunga, P.A.D.S. Madushan, Anurudda Bandara, K.A.D. Madusanka, Dhanushka Wijesiri, Kavindu Ishan, H.D.W. Hettiarachchi, E. Figurado, M.H.M. Uzman, Roshan Appuhamy, Afeel Mohamed, Madushan de Silva, S. Niresh, Sajith Kumara.
Manager: M.M. Rameez, head coach: Dudley Steinwall, asst. coach: R. Devasagayam, goal-keeping coach: Mahinda Galagedera and physiotherapist: S.N.P.K. Silva.