Members of the men’s and women’s teams that represented Thailand (from left) Namuangruk, Victoria Cup Timothy de Silva Trophy (Stroke Play Gross two rounds winner, ladies champion Apichaya Yubol and M. Zeemakiru (Thailand ladies International team winners)

K. Namuangruk of Thailand beat Sri Lanka’s Sisira Kumara in the 36 hole final to defend the 129th Sri Lanka Amateur Golf title. Thailand won the title in 2015.

Namuangruk drew first blood when Sisira Kumara started the final round with a 3 putt on the first hole, from which point Namuangruk sailed in to a 5 up lead after 7 holes firing 3 birdies in 6 holes.

After the morning session of 18 holes, Sisira Kumara was 7 down, but fought back to win a couple of holes but the lead proved too much with the consistency and experience of 24-yearold Namuangruk, who is earmarked to represent Thailand in the Asian Games in 2018.

The Sri Lankan performance was creditable with Sisira Kumara finishing as the runner-up. M. Arumugam lost to the eventual champion in the semi-final. The challenges posed by India, Pakistan, Bangladesh and Afghanistan were overcome by the Sri Lankans, but Thailand showed their superiority for the second successive year as much as the Ladies final being an All-Thailand dominance.

Results: (men):
Champion: K. Namuangruk (Thailand) beat Sisira Kumara (Sri Lanka) 7 & 6

Champion: Apichaya Yubol (Thailand) beat M. Zeemakorn (Thailand) 42nd Hole