Public Utilities Commission of Sri Lanka (PUCSL) has appointed a high-profiled three member committee to carry out an independent investigation of the recent breakdown of Lakvijaya Coal Power Plant at Norochcholai.

Former Attorney General and President Counsel Shibly Aziz has been appointed as the Chairman of the Committee with RI Senaratne, Head of the Department of Electrical Engineering, IESL Collage of Engineering and Professor Kapila Perera, Dean, Faculty of Engineering, University of Moratuwa as the committee members.

The PUCSL said that the expert team will investigate into relevant technical and non-technical evidence, information, data that requires ascertaining the causes of the failure, the causes for the failure, Analyze whether the future failures could have been prevented, and to make recommendations and advice to prevent such cases in future.

A failure of Norochcholai Lakvijaya Power Station occurred, around 11.00 am on October 15 resulting power cuts up to one and a half hours in Island wide excluding greater Colombo.