CEAT Racing Team’s Champion Rider Evon Biyagee Gurusinghe and Champion Driver Ushan Perera | Ushan Perera in action

CEAT Racing Team members Ushan Perera and Evon Biyagee Gurusinghe claimed the individual championships for best driver and best rider respectively, at the inaugural Commando Challenge Super Cross held in Uva Kuda Oya Commando Regimental Training School track on Sunday.

Setting an unbeatable record of capturing all four championship trophies on offer, the CEAT Racing Team took the Car Team Championship and the Motorcycle Team Championship titles.

The team’s 11 podium finishes at the Commando Challenge Super Cross comprised of eight first places, two second places and one fourth place. Ushan Perera reaffirmed his class by winning both races in the SLGT Cars up to 3500cc category, while Evon Biyagee Gurusinghe excelled, winning four events.

The 2016 Commando Challenge Super Cross organised by the Sri Lanka Commando Regiment in collaboration with Sri Lanka Association of Racing Drivers and Riders (SLARDAR), was supported by CEAT Kelani Holdings as the main sponsor. This was the third race conducted for the CEAT Sri Lanka Super Series Championship 2016.

The CEAT Racing Team for 2016 comprised Upulwan Serasinghe, Janaka Dias, Pasindu Peiris, Lalin Kirinda, Prasanna de Alwis, Lt. Colonel Duminda Jayasinghe, Colonel Indu Samarakoon, Ushan Perera, Malika Kuruvitarachchi, Gayantha Rangana, Devin Serasinghe, Evon B. Gurusinghe and Deshan Solanki.

The CEAT Racing Team has now won eight consecutive Car Team Championships and three Motorcycle Team Championships at races conducted for the 2016 season.
The CEAT Racing Team competes under CEAT colours at the five race meets conducted by the Sri Lanka Auto-sports Drivers Association (SLADA) for the 2016 CEAT SLADA Championship and at the four race meets of the ‘CEAT Sri Lanka Super Series’ conducted by SLARDAR.