Several civil society groups including Purawesi Balaya and the National Movement for a Just Society have decided to boycott a meeting scheduled to be held with President Maithripala Sirisena today.

President Sirisena invited several civil society groups and artists for a discussion this afternoon.

Senior journalist and representative of the Puravasi Balaya organisation KW Janaranjana addressing a media briefing said that the decision to boycott the meeting was taken after they had come to know of several parties who were not part of the formation of the good governance government were invited for the discussion.

He said they cannot hold discussions with parties who oppose the good governance concept.

  • Noor Nizam – Canada.

    Can the Puravasi Balaya publish the names of the Civil Society Groups/organizations that originally formed this movement under the leader of the late Thera Maduluwawe Sobitha Thero, who was The chief incumbent of the Kotte Naga. In recent times it is witnessed that almost 90 % of the Civil Society Groups who were with the late Thera and who joined the stage at Hyde Park on Tuesday the 2nd., December 2014 have abandoned the present Puravasi Balaya Leadership because a hand full of certain individuals like Co-Convener Saman Rathnapriya, Ravaya editor K.W. Janaranjana, Gamini Viyangoda are undemocratically steering this movement for their personal political agenda and holding to ransom the “Yahapalana government under the pretext of safeguarding the rights of the people/voters, while they indirectly benefited from the President and the PM and are lobbying for “anti-people” activities blackmailing the government appearing as the saviours of TURE DEMOCRACY.
    Noor Nizam. Peace and Political Activist, Political Communication Researcher, SLFP Stalwart and Convener – “The Muslim Voice”.