Budhisha Herath (2nd from right) Director Sales Cargills Kotmale presenting the sponsorship cheque to Trizvi Marikar (Principal of Zahira College/centre) and Farizan Marso, (2nd from left) President PPA

Zahira Super 16 Soccer Sevens tournament will be conducted for the 12th consecutive year at the Zahira College grounds in Maradana on October 8.

This much looked forward to tournament will feature16 teams who received invitations to participate. Last year the tournament was won by Maris Stella College Negombo.

This is the only schools tournament that offers cash prizes to the winners and runners-up. The total prize money to be given away is Rs. 650,000. The winners of the Cup event will be rewarded with Rs. 50,000 while the winners of the Place, Bowl and Shield too will receive cash prizes besides medals and certificates.

This tournament organised by the Past Prefects’ Association is approved by the Ministry of Education and recommended by the Sri Lanka Schools Football Association. The tournament is sponsored by Cargills Kotmale (main sponsor). The organisers have also received sponsorships from Bolt-Gear (Platium sponsor) and Northshore College (Gold sponsor). Some of the other sponsors are Amana Bank, AR Holdings, May Flower Holidays, Transvio Logistics. Each team will also be powered by a prominent brand.

Buddhika Herath, Director Sales of Cargills Kotmale said that soccer it is their intention to see to the development of youth through this sport.

Every outstation team will be provided with transport and accommodation and each team will be given jerseys and shorts for this tournament.

The theme of this tournament will be ‘Change the game off the field’.

Groupings are as follows:
Group A: Maris Stella Negombo, St. Benedict’s College, St. Joseph’s College and Zahira College Gampola.

Group B: St. Peter’s College, St. Mary’s College Kegalle, Manippay Hindu College Jaffna and Wesley College.

Group C: Zahira College Colombo, De Mazenod College Kandana, Trinity College Kandy and Hindu College Colombo.

Group D: Royal College, Nalanda College, Al Adhan Badulla and Isipathana College.