Mahinda College Galle played a well executed game to defeat much fancied Nalanda College Colombo by eight wickets in the final and lift the Murali Harmony Cup 2016 at the Kilinochchi Madya Maha Vidyalayam grounds in Kilinochchi on September 25.

Nalanda College had the advantage of having played their preliminary games at the same venue. They elected to bat first having won the toss.

Mahinda College pacemen Kavinda, Thewarapperuma and Malinga gave them the psychological advantage by picking up four top order wickets. But after a brief partnership of 42 runs between Seneviratne (28) and Sandaruwan (33), they were restricted to just 117 runs for nine wickets.

In their turn, Mahinda College batsmen played attractive strokes and collected their runs with well-placed shots. Skipper Welihinda and Malinga then put on 81 runs in an unbroken partnership for the third wicket to bring victory. Welihinda was unbeaten on 49 while Malinga was 30 not out.

Welihinda was adjudged the player of the finals and the tournament for his outstanding performances.

Nittambuwa Ladies faced little competition as they managed to retain the championship crown by defeating Matale Ladies by six wickets in the final.

Batting first, Matale Ladies were shot out for 84 runs in 17.1 overs
Pabasara Ranabahu batted best and contributed with 26 runs as Nittambuwa Ladies reached the target, scoring 85 for four wickets in 15.4 overs. Pabasara was adjudged as the player of the final.

1. Player of the final (ladies) – Pabasara Ranabahu (Nittambuwa Ladies)
2. Player of the final (boys) – Ravindu Welihinda (Mahinda)
3. Best Batter in the tournament
(ladies) – Satya Sandeepani (FoG)
4. Best Bowler in the tournament (ladies) – MG Sewandi (Shakthi)
5. Player of the tournament (ladies) – Ruwini Madushika (Nittambuwa Ladies)
6. Best Bowler of the tournament (boys) – UmekshaDilshan (Nalanda)
7. Best Batsman (boys) – Chatura Milan (FoG)
8. Player of the tournament (boys) – Ravindu Welihinda (Mahinda)