Defending champions and overwhelming favourites in the domestic rugby scene Kandy Sports Club will be at full strength when the 2016/17 season kicks off.

The new rugby season is expected to be whistled off in the first week of November. Last season Kandy SC won the league rugby crown in style. They are a team like no other in the sport. The Kandy SC players have an uncanny awareness on how to breach the opponent’s defence. They have more pace and power in their moves compared to the rest of the teams.

The fixtures list for the first round matches has been released. Kandy SC will play its first game on November 5 against CH & FC at Maitland Crescent. Their other matches are against Air Force SC at Ratmalana, Army SC in Colombo, Police SC at Nittawala, Navy SC at Welisara, CR & FC at Nittawala and Havelock SC at Nittawala.

For the record, Kandy SC first won the League Championship in 1994. The Nittawala club won the league in 1995, 1997, 1999, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2015 and 2016. The club has recorded seventeen wins in 22 years, the highest by any club.

Kandy SC has commenced training under their coach Sean Wijesinghe and will be assisted by Nalaka Weerakkody.