Wesley College Colombo and St. Mary’s College Kegalle have been promoted to Division I for this year’s under-19 cricket tournament that will begin this week. There will be 36 teams divided into four groups with nine teams each and will have to play at least eight compulsory matches.
Wesley College Colombo and St. Mary’s College Kegalle ended as joint champions in Division II last year.
Two teams from each group will qualify to the quarter-final round that will be played on a knock-out basis and over two days duration.
St. Sebastian’s College Moratuwa and St. Peter’s College Bambalapitiya emerged joint champions in Division I last season. St. Sebastian’s College were also the champions in limited overs tournament and Ananda College were the runners-up.
Royal College Panadura and Holy Cross College Kalutara are demoted to Division II.
The limited overs tournament will see 28 teams from Division I, 16 teams from Division II and four teams from Division III qualify.

Group ‘A’ – Trinity College Kandy, St. Mary’s College Kegalle, Richmond College Galle, St. Anthony’s College Wattala, St. Peter’s College Colombo, Dharmapala College Pannipitiya, St. Sebastian’s College Moratuwa, Dharmaraja College, Nalanda College.

Group ‘B’ – Isipathana College, Wesley College, Royal College, Mahanama College, Lumbini College, Mahinda College Galle, Ananda College, Prince of Wales College, St. Benedict’s College.
Group ‘C’ – S. Thomas’ College, Anuradhapura Central, Gurukula College Kelaniya, D.S. Senanayake College, Dharmasoka Ambalangoda, Moratu Vidyalaya, St. Aloysius College Galle, St. Sylvester’s College Kandy, Zahira College.

Group ‘D’ – Thurstan College Colombo, President’s College Kotte, St. Servatius College Matara, Maris Stella College Negombo, St. Joseph’s College, Bandaranaike MMV Gampaha, De Mazenod College Kandana, Maliyadeva College Kurunegala, St. Joseph Vaz College Wennappuwa.