Kavinda Dias-Abeysinghe, Deputy Chairman of Fairway Holdings addressing the gathering

The eagerly awaited Fairway National Literary Awards 2016 Shortlists were announced at a ceremony held at the Hilton Colombo Residences (JAIC Hilton) on August 30, 2016. The shortlisted authors will receive a cash award of Rs. 100,000 each while the eventual winner in each language category will receive an award of Rs 500 000 each.
The shortlisted novels are as follows:
FNLA 2016 Shortlisted Novels

The Dalada Chronicles by  Shyam S. Dissanayake
Celibacy Factor by Quintus G. Fernando
First Utterance by Theena Kumaragurunathan
Parallel Lives by Nanda Pethiyagoda

Asandhimitta by Saman Wickramarachchi
Ahambakaraka by Liyanage Amarakeerthi
Paradesi by Eric Ilayaparachchi
Maha Ravana by Tennyson Perera
Sapthambaraye Diga Dawasak by Kapila Kumara Kalinga

Panjam Pilaikka Vantha  by M. Sivalingam
Neenthi Kadantha Neruppaaru  by N. Yogendranathan
Kalavan Kathikal by J. Wahabdeen

The Sinhala language category panel of judges comprises the renowned film director Dr. Dharmasena Pathiraja, Krishantha Fedricks, an academic specializing in linguistic anthropology, and the well-known short story writer Professor Piyaseeli Wijemanna.
The panel of judges for the Tamil language entries are Professor Emeritus Sitralega Maunaguru, S. Pathmanathan, former Principal of Palaly Training College and better known as the poet and translator ‘Sopa,’ and Professor Mohamed Abdulla Mohamed Rameez, Professor of Tamil Language at the South Eastern University.

The English language category’s panel of judges comprises the distinguished former civil servant and author Tissa Devendra, Dr. Vivimarie Vander Poorten, an acclaimed poet and academic, and novelist and Commonwealth Book Prize Winner Nayomi Munaweera.
These distinguished judges will over the coming months select the winners in each language category, the announcement of which will take place in January 2017 at the Fairway Galle Literary Festival, one of the most popular literary festivals in the world.
The Fairway National Literary Awards are sponsored by Fairway Holdings with the goal of encouraging, recognizing and rewarding Sri Lankan creative writing excellence.

Judges pose with the novels that were selected for the short lists
Judges pose with the novels that were selected for the short lists