The immediate Past President Madushanka Gammanpila was unanimously elected the president by the forum at the 59th  Annual General Meeting of the Mercantile Table Tennis Association (MTTA) held on  August 26, 2016 at Nildiya Hotel (Pvt) Ltd, Mount Lavinia.
Gammanpila is the past vice president of Mercantile Table Tennis Association and has served the committee as secretary and assistant secretary since 2009.

The newly elected office-bearers are as follows:
President – Madushanka Gammanpila
Secretary – Kasun Punchihewa
Treasurer – Gamunu Prabath
Patron – Rajiva Wijetunge
Vice Presidents (3) – Gamini Moraes, Jagath Priyankara, Ashan Wikramanayake
Asst. Secretary – Lasantha Chandrasiri
Asst. Treasurer – Janith Nimantha Perera

Five executive committee members were elected for 2016/2017. Rajiva Wijetunge, past vice patron, is automatically promoted as the patron for the year. He was the president of Table Tennis Association of Sri Lanka (TTASL) and the past president of Mercantile Table Tennis Association (MTTA) as well.

The event calendar for 2016 is knock-out Team Championship (September 8 and 9, 2016), League Team Championship (November 24 and 25, 2016), Veteran and Open Tournaments next year.