The Central Province Rugby Football Union (CPRFU) which is under the leadership of Isphan Omar has big plans to conduct rugby tournaments. These tournaments will be conducted for men and women and will take the form of either 15-a-side or 7-a-side rugby. In the good old days, CPRFU conducted many tournaments. At present the Union is finding it difficult to do so due to lack of funds. The CPRFU is expecting help from the SLRFU.

The CPRFU is the governing body for rugby in the Central Province. The CPRFU was established in 1992 and is functioning in accordance with the SLRFU guidelines and its constitution. At its peak in 2002, the CPRFU comprised top clubs like Kandy SC, Dimbulla A & CC, Dickoya Maskeliya CC, Peradeniya University, OTSC and Kandy Youth SC. All these clubs have at one time or another competed in the SLRFU ‘A’ Division tournaments.

The CPRFU also embarked in forming ‘B’ division clubs, which included Katugastota Rugby Football Club, Polgolla Rugby Football Club, Mawilmada Rugby Football Club, Matale Rugby Football Club, Nuwara Eliya Rugby Football Club and Pilimatalawa Rugby Football Club.
By 2008 it had 18 clubs playing in the up-country league rugby tournaments. There were 52 schools in the Central Province engaged in rugby. This was apart from the more popular schools in this region like Trinity, Kingswood, St. Anthony’s, St. Sylvester’s, Wariyapola Sri Sumangala, Dharmaraja and Vidyartha. Today these lesser known schools are struggling at rugby. Who is to blame for this? As for the SPRFU, it doesn’t have a place to conduct meetings.