Team SHARK display their first ever racing car at the DIMO office and showroom location

Engineering students of the University of Moratuwa who built the D-Mora P1 race car brought glory to Sri Lanka by winning three awards at the world’s biggest student motor sport completion ‘Formula Student 2016’.

The team from the University of Moratuwa – Team SHARK – fully-sponsored by DIMO, consisted of 18 members. They were led by Harshana Kelasha. The three awards won included two team awards – “Best Newcomer in Class 1” and “Dedication to Formula Student Award”– and one individual award for the “Top Individual Driver” which was bagged by Induwara Munasinghe for his outstanding driving skills.

“This wonderful team of highly-talented individuals has brought glory to Mother Lanka and the University of Moratuwa through their achievements at this international event. We, at DIMO, are immensely proud to be a part of this extraordinary journey, and we believe that greater things will be achieved by them in the years to come,” said Ranjith Pandithage – Chairman & Managing Director of DIMO at the celebration ceremony.

“The University of Moratuwa has always been the pinnacle of engineering education of our country and has proven, yet again, that its undergraduates are always ready to challenge the world,” said Prof. Kapila Perera, Dean, Faculty of Engineering.

Team SHARK comprised: Harshana Kelasha (Team Leader), Rajive Wisidagama (Technical Director), Chathura Semasinghe (Operational Manager), Sajith Edirisinghe (Financial Manager), Nushen Senevirathna (Chief Engineer – Chassis), Sachithra Atapattu (Chief Engineer – Chassis), Rukmal Dhanushka (Chief Engineer – Power Train), Praneeth Weeratunga (Chief Engineer – Steering), Isuru Mudalige (Chief Engineer – Vehicle Dynamics), Induwara Munasinghe (Chief Engineer – Electrical), Amith Mudugamuwa (Marketing Director), Buddhi Herath (Event Coordinator), Thushara Sandakalum (Assistant Engineer – Power Train), Kasun Harshana (Assistant Engineer – Power Train), Shameen Kamburugamuwa (Assistant Engineer – Chassis), Navoda Lakshan (Assistant Engineer – Brakes and Dynamics), Jaliya Chinthaka (Assistant Engineer –Suspension), Buddhika de Alwis (Assistant Engineer – Steering).