All arrangements have been finalized to hold the first Test, 5th ODI and the first T20 over here in Kandy. The Test match will start on July 26 and conclude on July 30. The final ODI will be held on September 4. The first T20 is scheduled for September 6.

All three games will be played at the Pallekelle International Stadium, which can cater to a capacity crowd of 35,000. The playing area is 80 metres long and 75metres wide. The two teams will be housed at Earl’s Regency Hotel. The matches will be organized by the Kandy District Cricket Association President Janaka  Pathirane  on behalf of Sri Lanka Cricket.
The first official Test was played over here in Asgiriya, Kandy between Sri Lanka and Australia in April 1985. Australia, who called correctly during the toss, chose to bat and won by an innings and 38 runs. Australia made 514 for 4 while Sri Lanka could manage totals of 271 and 205.

The Australian team comprised; KC Wessels, GM Wood, GN Yallop, GS Chappell (capt), DW Hookes, AR Border, RD Woolley, TG Hogan, B Yardley, DK Lillee and RM Hogg.
Sri Lanka team comprised; S Wettimuny, ERNS Fernando. RL Dias, RJ Ratnayake, LRD Mendis (capt), RS Madugalle, A Ranatunga, DS de Silva, ALF de Mel, RG de Alwis and RPW Guneratne.

The last Test to be played between these two nations took place at Pallekele Stadium in 2011. Sri Lanka made totals of 174 and 317 for 6 while Australia made 417 for 7.