Dialog Axiata team with the trophy

Commercial Credit & Finance PLC ‘A’ turned on their turbo boosters at the precise moment to zoom past the fancied DFCC Bank 55/50 and clinch the Ram Ratnavale Memorial Trophy presented to the winner of the Men’s ‘A’ Division MSBA Basketball Tournament Knock-out final at the Edward Henry Pedris Stadium on 17 June.

This was the 11th MSBA Basketball Tournament.

DFCC with their power packed national players, skipper, Prageeth  Pushpakumara, Terrence Neydoff , Tharindu Sankalpa and Roshan Fernando kept the youthful, rampaging Commercial Credit players under control, as they led the first two quarters, 12/10 and 30/27.

Commercial Credit also packed with four national players, Thimothi Nithushan, Gayan de Croos, Sanjeewa Kulamina and Clinton Stallone got their act together and scored 14 points against DFCC’s 11 points to draw level 41/41 at the end of the 3rd quarter.
At a time when DFCC seemed to have run out of steam in the crucial last quarter, the brilliant Clinton Stallone switched into top gear and take Commercial Credit ‘A’ to a memorable 55/50 win.

Top Scorers : Clinton Stallone (18), Gayan de Croos (10) and Sanjeewa Kulamina (10) for the winners.
Prageeth Pushpakumara (12) and Roshan Fernando (10) for the losers.
Channa Perera, Gayan Buddhika and Christopher Kumarasinghe refereed.

Dialog win in extra time
In the Men’s ‘B’ division final, that went on for two full hours, Dialog Axiata, intelligently led by Rimaz Hassan, produced a heart stopping 46/44 win on extra time over MAS Holdings ‘Reds’.

The game swung like a pendulum from the start as MAS “Reds” attacked more cohesively via skipper, Andrew Alphonsus, ex- national players, V.S. Sundaralingam and Roshel Mendis. They led in the first quarter 13/11 and at half time, 19/17.

Dialog’s in-form players Vajira Kumarasinghe, Raviraj Wickramasinghe and Dhanuka Muthukudaarachchi combined effectively to help their team take the third quarter, 29/28.
Shanaka Weerasinghe joined the Dialog party, playing a fine up and down game to freeze the scorers, 39/39 at full time. The game went into extra time and skipper Rimaz Hassan once again marshalled his troops well to take Dialog Axiata home, 46/44.
Top scorers: Shanaka Weerasinghe (15), Dhanuka Muthukudarachchi (13) scored for the winners.

Andrew Alphonsus (11) and V.S. Sundaralingam (13) scored for the losers.
Ranil Suranga, Charitha Dodangoda and Thusith Yatigammana refereed.