The Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the 142-year-old Kandy Sports Club will take place on June 12 (Sunday) at the club house. The proceedings will begin at 10.30 a.m.
This is one of the oldest clubs in the country and was founded by coffee planters in 1874. It was known for athletics, boating, cricket, football and dancing.  In 1888 this institute was renamed as ‘Kandy Sports Club’. The sporting activities of the club were held at Bogambara grounds until 1939. Later the club was taken over by the General Hospital to house its offices. With all this setbacks they continued to dabble in sports.  In 1954 the club was transformed due to the untiring efforts of a few dedicated and keen committee members. Initially they started in a hut, which resembled a scouts’ tent.

At present, thanks to Malik Samarawickrema, the club flourishes and provides its members with all the facilities. Rugby has become the most popular sport at the club.
The new committee to be elected on Sunday is as follows – Patron – Dr. Sarath Kapuwatte, Trustees – Malik Samarawickrema, Hemaka Amarasuriya and Dr. Sartah Kapuwatte,  President – Nihal Ratwatte, Vice Presidents-  Lasantha Wijasuriya Senior,  Hafiz Marikar and Janak Pathirane, Secretary – Channe Jayatilake, Treasurer – Anizal Laphir,  Secretary – (Social Events) Mark Stephen, (Pavilion) I.P. Atanayake, (Ground) Saman Kothalawella, (Bar) Jehan Sirimane,  Captain: Roshan Weerarathne,  Team Manager – Kapila Silva, – Assistant Team Manager – Saliya Silva, Rugby Convener – A. Jamaldeen – Asst. Convenor – Nalaka Weerakkody. Head Coach- Sean Wijesinghe, Assitiant Coach-
Nalaka Weerakkody.