The month of May 2016, marks a golden milestone for Sri Lanka Tourism with the grand celebration of its 50th Anniversary.

Earlier referred to as the Ceylon Tourist Board, was the official government body responsible for all tourism related activities and development within the country. The Ceylon Tourist Board was established on the 2nd of May 1966 by Tourism Act No. 10 of 1966. It is now branched into four institutions namely Sri Lanka Tourism Development Authority (SLTDA), Sri Lanka Tourism Promotion Bureau (SLTPB), Sri Lanka Institute of Tourism & Hotel Management (SLITHM) and Sri Lanka Convention Bureau (SLCB).

Sri Lanka Tourism has initiated a series of activities to celebrate this historic occasion.