St. Sylvester’s College rugby pool

St. Sylvester’s College is a school which fields a bunch of ruggerites that contests the Division I Segment I C. They have done their best this season and won all their matches to date. It was nice to see them play open rugby and their forwards are playing robust rugby. They have the services of some up and coming players.

They first played rugby in the 1950s and gave it up due to lack of facilities. They came back to rugby again in 1982. It was Malcolm Marshal who led the side first in 1954.

Several Sylvestrians excelled at club level. Some of the ex-Sylvestrians who have excelled at rugby are Sarath Basnayake, former Senior DIG Nimal Lewke, Cyril Aluwihare, Gerard David, Tony Direcksz, Malcolm Marshal, J. Jamilon, Anton Fernando and this writer.

Anura  Rankothge (Coach)
Anura Rankothge (Coach)

This season they have beaten St. Thomas’ College Matale 45-14, Carey College 30-10, Ehiliyagoda MMV 73-5, Richmond College 22-13 and Maliyadewa College 17-13. Their most looked forward to game is against Vidyartha College which is played for the D.J.N. Seneviratne Memorial Trophy. This year Sylvestrians are led by fly half T.D. Waligampola, a fearless player and a good cover defender. Anura Rankothge, an old boy who is well-known in refereeing, is the coach. They are well backed by the Old Boys Association and the Sports Club. The Principal T.R.S. Meetiyagoda extends his fullest support to the boys. The MIC – cum – POG is Thusith Pallakumbura .

St. Sylvester’s College rugby squad- T.D. Waligampola (capt.), W.C.N de Silva, K.M. Rajapakse, S.D. Sandakelum, D.M. Maishan, I.L. Gamage, S.M. Bandara, K.P. Vithanagamage, Y.V. Jayatilake, J.K. Dassanayake, R.S. Pathirana, L.D.J. Bandara, L.U. Bandara, S.B. Kapukotuwa, U.R. Sirimanne, C. Kulatunga, S.D. Nanayakkara, N.K. Premachandra, T. Walgampaya, S.A.U. Madabathiya, C.P. Jerusln, M. Silmy, R. Praveen, T.T. Hettiarachchi and M. Warnasuriya.