Vidyartha College rugby team

Vidyartha College Kandy possesses one of the strongest rugby teams in the Segment “2 A”. They beat Piliyandala Central in the opener and in the second game went down to Mahanama College. In the third game they beat Prince of Wales College and followed it up with victory against Thurstan College. Their next game is on Tuesday against St. Benedicts College.

Vidyartha schoolboys have always shown great leadership qualities in the rugby field. This is one school which has reached great heights in rugby. They started the game in 1963. The school has produced several top class national players.

T.B. Wijasinghe who started his rugby at Kandy Lake Club and later played for CR and FC was the first national player produced by the school. Some of the other national players produced by the school were George Jayasena, Edwin Viper Gunarathne, Charles Wijewardane, Sunil Perera, Sunil Munasinghe, Nimal Malagamuwa and Athula Manchanayake.

Talking about rugby at present a big hand should go to Rugby Development Group Chairman Wasantha Dissanayake and his committee for the all the hard work done.

This year the school’s rugby is handled by Vajira Jayatillake, an old boy of the school. Jayatillake turned out for Army SC and went on to represent the country.

This season their main target is to reach the top and play in the second round. One of the strengths of Vidyartha College is their pack which comprises some knowledgeable players. Their front row is packed with big made boys.

The back division comprises talented players. Their halves combination has given off their best. The team’s passing and tackling are good.

They play Ananda College in their annual match for the William Gopallawa Shield. Earlier, there were two legs for this match, but now there is only one game.

This season they field a formidable side and are led by Heshan Fernando who is an astute leader who can get the best out of his team mates.

Vidyartha College Rugby squad:- Hashan Fernando, Raveen Alexander, Dilum Deeshana, C.D. Perera, Manoj Kumara, Niroshan Wijethunga, Dilipa Madushanka, S.N. Kaluarachchi, M. Sadeer, A.M. Perera, R.K. Promodya, Dilipa Thissa, Vinod Umayanga, K.L. Bandara, T.R. Rathnayake, S. Dilshan, G.S. Weerasingha, D.T. Gunarathna, M.K. Dassanayake, K.T. Walalawita, A.M. Bandara, N.M. Suriyapaksha, I.U. Abeysingha, D.C. Athukorala, M.A.S. Kumara, K.G. Thilakarathna.

Vidyartha College rugby team (2)