Ten political parties and six trade unions are expected to come to roads to celebrate the May Day with rallies and processions this year.

All the rallies are to be held in Colombo except for the procession organized by the United People’s Freedom Alliance (UPFA) led by Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP), which will be held in Galle.

Accordingly, the SLFP and the UPFA will hold their May Day celebrations at the Samanala Grounds in Galle with the participation of SLFP leader and President Maithripala Sirisena. Processions will commence at the Highway Entrance in Galle and near the Maha Modara General Hospital.

Elam People’s Democratic Party (EPDP), Ceylon workers Congress (CWC), Democratic People’s Front, Muslim National Congress, Democratic United National Front, Nava Sihala Urumaya, Liberal Party and Eksath Lanka Podujana Pakshaya have confirmed their participation at the UPFA.

The United National Party headed by Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe will conduct its May Day rally at the Campbell Park at 2.00 p.m. The procession will start at 11.00am at the Armors Street and reach Campbell Park via Panchikawatte, Maradana, Punchi Borella and Borella.

Meanwhile, Joint Opposition which comprises of parliamentarians from seven affiliated parties to the UPFA will start its procession near the Shalika grounds, Narahenpita and will stage the rally at the Lalith Athulathmudali grounds in Kirulapone.

The rally will be chaired by former President Mahinda Rajapaksa and would see the participation of a number of small parties led by his loyalists including Wimal Weerawansa, Dinesh Gunawardana, Vasudewa Nanayakkara and Udaya Gammanpila.

The JVP rally will be held at 4.00pm at the BRC Grounds in Colombo and the procession will begin at 12 noon at the S De S Jayasinghe ground in Dehiwala. The procession will proceed via Kalubowila Hospital, Saranankara Junction, Pamankada Bridge and then proceed along High Level Road.

The Democratic Party led by Field Marshal Sarath Fonseka will hold its May Day Rally at the Buddadasa Grounds, Battaramulla. The Procession will start in front of the HSBC Bank, Rajagiriya, and proceed towards Battaramulla town, and reach the grounds via Thalawathugoda Road.

The May Day rally of the Frontline Socialist Party (FSP) will be held at Bastian Mawatha, Colombo at 3.00pm. The procession will start at10am at Rathnam Grounds, Kotahena.
Meanwhile, a ceremony to commemorate the 23rd death anniversary of late President Ranasinghe Premadasa will be held near the statue of the late president at Hulftsdorp. The ceremony is organized by the Sucharitha Foundation and the family members.