Dharmaraja College rugby team

Dharmaraja College with a bunch of talented players is hoping to produce an improved performance in the on-going inter-school league rugby tournament. This is a school which first played rugby in the 1930s.  The school abandoned rugby after a player had succumbed to an injury.  The revival of rugby at Dharmaraja happened in 1972. Since then, the school has taken part in rugby tournaments thanks to the organizing and planning efforts of old boys and the school authorities.

They school has produced a galaxy of rugby players in the likes of Col. C.S. Fernando, Shanthi Menids, Daya Jayasundra, Muruga Jayarathne, Hemantha Yatawara, Ajantha Samarakoon, Cuda Nugawella, Melroy Mendis, C.S. Ekanayake, Mahesh Weerasinghe,  Ruwan Mallawarchchi, Chandima Amadoru, Indrajith Bandaranayake and Radika Hettiarachichi, who is now coaching the First XV side.

In the last few years, they have been in the forefront of school rugby.  A lot is expected from coach Hettiarachchi who will be assisted by Rochana Hettiarachchi.

This season Dharmaraja is grouped in Segment 1 “B”. They lost to Isipathana   College in   the opener. They came back with a win against Kingswood College, but suffered a loss at the hands of Science College. The school is expected to play its fourth match against

St. Anthony’s College.
This season the players are talented and are keen followers of the game.   The players are showing a lot of eagerness to improve and are training hard at practices.  Overall the Rajans are fielding a young side and are led by
Chalinda Wijesinghe.
Dharmaraja College rugby squad – Chalinda Wijesinghe, Manisha Pavan,   Tharaka Ratnayake,  Chamika Perera,  Charith Sanje,   Gihan Malinga,   Dulanga Hettiarachchi,   Pamudith Hasaranga,  Asanka Pradeep, Hasantha Lakshan,  Nipuna Tharaka, Manuka Hiyarapitiya,   Nimesh Ratnayake,   Hasitha Wijesinghe,   Thilina Bandara,  Krishanth Dissanayaka,  Oshada Ekanayake,  Oshadha Kulupana,  Geshapa Kulatunga,  Himasha Maduwantha,   Sasith Udayangana,  Chathura Ekanayaka, Romesh Anandaraja,  Dilan Dhananjaya, Chanuka Gayashan,   Saminda Lakshan,  Adhisha Dissanayaka,  Tharuka Galapitiya and
Tharindu Kapuwatte.

Chalinda Wijesinghe (Captain)  |  Radika Hettiarachichi (Coach)
Chalinda Wijesinghe (Captain) | Radika Hettiarachichi (Coach)