Crystal Palace FC team celebrates

Crystal Palace FC clinched “The Traveller Championship” crown for the first time after an exciting final to beat Red Sun SC 9-8 in a penalty shoot out played in front of large crowd at Jayathilake Stadium, Nawalapitiya recently.

Red Sun SC played well during first 15 minutes and missed a few scoring opportunities. But, the Young lads from Crystal Palace FC managed to defend their goal area. Red Sun continued to play attacking soccer and managed to take the lead in the 20th minute through a goal by Kumara Jayawickrama.

Red Sun SC held on to this lead at half time.
The second half saw the captain of Crystal Palace FC Khalid being sent off for unwarranted play.

Even with ten players they played well and in the 78th minute a well executed free kick taken by M. Shifan saw the ball hit the back of the net for the equalizer.

With the match ending in a 1-all draw, referee Udyakantha ordered the penalty tie breaker. Crystal Palace FC ended up winners in a thriller. They won 9-8.

M. Shiran was adjudged man of the match by match commissioner Rukshan Nazar.

Crystal Palace FC carried away the Traveller Trophy plus a cash prize of Rs. 50,000 while Red Sun SC were also awarded with a trophy plus a cash prize of Rs. 25,000.