(Above) Rotherham Champion Driver Ushan Perera of the CEAT Racing Team and (below) Car Team Champions Ushan Perera and Malika Kuruvitarachchi

The CEAT Racing Team made a rip-roaring start to the 2016 season with a dominant performance at the Rotherham Circuit Meet at Katukurunda, taking the Champion Driver’s trophy and the Car Team championship in characteristic style.

The team secured 10 podium finishes at this meet, with Ushan Perera who won both races for SLGT Super Cars accounting for two of three first places secured by Team CEAT, and being adjudged champion driver. Pasindu Peiris secured the team’s third win, coming in first in the Group SL – H Standard cars up to 1618cc event.

Ushan Perera and Malika Kuruvitarachchi claimed the Car Team Championship for CEAT, signalling the ambitions of the team to continue its dominance of the team standings for a third year in a row.

“It was certainly a hi-Octane start for the CEAT Racing Team, which was reconstituted in February for the 2016 season,” said Ravi Dadlani, Vice President Sales & Marketing at CEAT Sri Lanka. “We are looking forward to even better performances as the season progresses.”

The 10 podium finishes secured by the CEAT Racing team at the Rotherham Circuit Meet comprised of three first places, three second place, one third place, two fourth places and one fifth place.

The CEAT Racing Team for 2016 comprises stalwarts Upulwan Serasinghe, Janaka Dias, Pasindu Peiris, Lalin Kirinda, Prasanna de Alwis, Lt. Colonel Duminda Jayasinghe, Lt. Colonel Indu Samarakoon, Ushan Perera and newcomers Malika Kuruvitarachchi, Gayantha Rangana, Evon B. Gurusinghe and Deshan Solanki.

The team will race under CEAT colours at the five race meets to be conducted by the Sri Lanka Auto-sports Drivers Association (SLADA) for the 2016 CEAT SLADA Championship. The five race meets are, Katukurunda Circuit Meet I, the Foxhill Supercross (24th April), Sigiriya Rallycross (5th June), Gunners Supercross (10th July) and Rotherham Circuit Meet II (23rd October).

The CEAT Racing Team won the Team Championship for Cars for a second successive year in 2015 with a total of 61 podium finishes, accounting for the one two top laurels at the CEAT SLADA Championship awards, with which the motor racing season culminates every year.