The Trinity-St. Anthony’s annual cricket big match—the 97th in the series—scheduled to be played at the Asgiriya Stadium in Kandy on March 11 and 12 has been resheduled for March 15-16 at the Pallekelle  Stadium. The match was rescheduled due to the death of Asgiriya Chapter Chief Priest Ven. Galagama Sri Aththadassi Thera. Whenever these two schools meet they have thrilled and entertained thousand of cricket fans in the hills. These two schools have played each other since 1914.

The Trinity–Antonian cricket encounter is known as ‘The Battle of the Blues’. This encounter is played for the John Halangoda Memorial Trophy. It is awarded to the team that manages to win the match by means of an outright win or at least a first innings win.

Out of the 96 games played, the Trinitians have won 23 with 11 ending in favour of the Antonians. The last outright win for the Antonians was in 1992. Trinity won last under Niroshan Dickwella in 2012. The 2015 encounter ended in a draw with only one session of play possible as the match was abandoned due to wet weather. The match also went into the record books as the shortest ever big match with play lasting only two hours.

The first century of series came off the bat of Antonian Jack Anderson (111) in 1918 at Asgiriya. Trinity’s first century came from M.D.D. Jayawardene in 1922 when he scored 120.
This year Trinity College has the highest number of wins in the schools tournament (10). They are sure to dictate terms to St. Anthony’s College, who have struggled this season.

Trinity College—Raveen Sayer (capt), Nushan Weerasinghe (acting capt), Sangeeth Shanmuganathan, Hasitha Boyagoda, Shavindu Amarasinghe, Dunindu Tilakarathne, Dilan Jayalath, Rashmika Dilshan, Lahiru Kumara, Thasila Dodanwella, Sachira Gaminda, Yasara Pitawela, Hasintha Jayasuriya, Thanka Chandrarathne, Thyigaraga Bjamugoban

St. Anthony’s College—Kanishka Ukgalpaya (capt), Mohamed Alfer (v-capt), Theeksha Gunasingahe, Virajith Jayasinghe, Dion Stoputer, Romesh Premarathne, Lakjeewa Wijebandara, Chandaruwan Dharmarathne, S. Jayasinghe, Thamashana Abeyakoon, Janidu, Sateesh Wickremaarachchi, Mokshana Wickremanayake, K. Bandara, Dilanka Wijerathne