Kandy SC skipper Fazil Marija receives the Inter-club league rugby tournament trophy at the awards distribution ceremony.

The Clifford Cup quarter-final between Kandy Sports Club and CH&FC will be played on March 13 (Sunday) at Nittawela.  Earlier this match was scheduled to be played at Pallekelle, but the venue was changed after obtaining CH’s cooperation.  If Kandy Sports Club enters the semifinals,   this match will be played at  Pallekelle.  Kandy will meet the winners of the Police  SC  Navy SC game in the semis.  This season the Quarter-finals have been fixed for 11th, 12th and 13th of March. The Semifinals will be on March 19th and 20th and the final on March 26th.

Kandy Sports Club has won the Clifford Cup a record 19 times, including a consecutive period of ten years between 1995 and 2005.   Their other wins came in 1992, 1993, 1995, 1996, 1997, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015.

The Clifford Cup is the most prestigious club rugby knockout tournament and arguably the oldest rugby tournament in Asia. The Clifford Cup commenced in 1911 and has been played continuously since 1950.

When reflecting on how Kandy SC dominated the league rugby tournament this season, praise should go to coaches Sean Wijesinghe  (Head coach) and Nalaka Weerakoddy (Assistant coach), Saliya Kumara, Manager Kapila Silva and Rugby Chairman Lasantha Wijesuriya for a good job done.