Crowned the CEAT-SLADA Motorcycles Champion Team of 2015, Team Honda has regained the title it held in 2013, the Team’s debut year in motocross competition. At the scintillating end-of-season awards ceremony late November, Team Honda was presented with the prestigious Championship trophy.

To win the National Team Championship twice in three years is outstanding. Beginning the season with the firm decision to re-take the crown, Team Honda riders and technicians ably backed and co-ordinated by Stafford Motor Company (Pvt) Limited remained totally focused on winning the 2015 title.

Gayan Sandaruwan nine times the National 250cc Champion Motocross Rider and brother Shanuka Sandaruwan himself a three time National Champion (2010 – Under 16 age category; 2012 and 2013 – Group M 250cc Standard/Modified), and Team Honda rookies Imal Manchanayake and Kasun Wikramarachchi, all Honda CRF250-mounted, formed the ‘front office’ of Team Honda 2015.

Gayan used the 2015 season to return to competition following a pre-season crash injury, competing at a single meet. Kasun Wikramarachchi had to put his 2015 motocross campaign on hold, following injury sustained at Fox Hill, the season opener.

Shanuka and Imal fired up their 2015 motocross year with a stunning performance of three-wins and a second at the Fox Hill Supercross before a massive crowd of fans in the hill-station April season.

Through the year the pair went on their merry way capturing a total of six outright victories and seven other podium positions, Team Honda totaling the highest points of any in 2015 and winning the Team Championship yet again.

To top off the successful season, the Honda riders Imal and Shanuka shot to yet another win and three second places at the annual non-championship final motocross outing, the Walawa Supercross, underlining the sheer superiority of the Team Honda riders and the Honda CRF competition machinery.

April through September ran the 2015 Motocross series; from the Foxhill Supercross, through Gunners Supercross, the tar and gravel Sigiriya Rallycross, and the Gajaba Supercross, challenging venues all and demanding of rider and machinery.