President Maithripala Sirisena has submitted three names for the possible appointment for the post of the Attorney General, a position left vacant by the retirement of President’s Counsel Yuvanjana Wijayatilake.

Solicitor General and Acting Attorney General, President’s Counsel Suhada Gamalath along with Senior Additional Solicitors General, President’s Counsels Jayantha Jayasuriya and Kapila Waidyaratne are the trio of potentials placed before the Constitutional Council.

The Constitutional Council met on February 08 to discuss the nominees.

Constitutional Council Member, Propaganda Secretary of the Janatha Vimukthi Peramuna Vijitha Herath was not available for a comment.