The Consultation Task Force to seek wide stakeholder consultation with regards to the design of the domestic mechanism for reconciliation, truth seeking, justice, reparation and non-recurrence, will formally be declared on February 12, its Chairperson, Attorney-at-Law Manouri Kokila Muttetuwegama said.

Spokesperson for the Ministry of Foreign Affairs Mahishini Colonne said that the civil society and leading public figures (appointed by the Prime Minister’s Secretary) were tasked with an objective and time-bound (three months) exercise.

There will be two phases including a web based process where anyone can respond in writing in any language, to questions posed, and a process of face to face consultations with all stakeholders including women, disabled soldiers, the military, war widows and former child soldiers, amongst others, she added.

“In 2015 September, the Government made an announcement at the United Nations Human Rights Council, that it was, citing President Maithripala Sirisena’s manifesto and the mandates received at the elections in 2015 January and 2015 August, committed to reconciliation and that steps would be taken towards truth seeking, justice, reparation and the non-recurrence of conflict. The idea to setup a mechanism and the eventual design of it would be preceded by a wide stakeholder consultation with all and this in turn would inform the design of the said mechanism. Such was included in an operative paragraph of the resolution,” she noted.

It is reported elsewhere that the 11-Member Committee named by the Government is reported to be comprised of Muttetuwegama as the Chairperson, Dr. Paikiasothy Saravanamuththu as the Secretary, Prof. Chitralekha Maunaguru, Prof. Daya Somasunderam, Dr. Farzana Haniffa, President’s Counsel Shantha Abhimanasingham, Gamini Viyangoda, Vishakha Dharmadasa, Dharmasiri Bandaranayake, Mirak Raheem and Gameela Samarasinghe.