The organisers of the 8th Annual Zahira Sevens rugby tournament pose with the sponsors at a media briefing held in connection with the tournament

Twelve schools teams, including a team from Sarawak combined schools from East Malaysia, will be seen in action at the 8th Annual Zahira Sevens rugby tournament to be held at Maradana on February 6.

Defending champions Isipathana College are favourites to retain the title as the other teams are from segment B.

The tournament is organised by the Zahira College Group of Sixties which is also the tournament’s main sponsor. No Limit has come forward as one of the sponsors.

The teams and their groups:
Group A: Isipathana, Mahanama and Thurstan.
Group B: Prince of Wales, Carey and St. Benedict’s.
Group C: Vidyartha, CWW Kannangara and Sarawak Schools.
Group D: Zahira, Lalith Athulathmudali and Royal Panadura.
All teams are requested to register their players by 8 a.m. and the tournament will kick off at 8.30 a.m.