Sport has always played a large part in the life of students at Trinity College Kandy. There is evidence to show that both cricket and tennis were played in this institute. However, cricket was not looked at seriously at Trinity in the early years due to want of a ground. The first real effort of building a school cricket team came through the efforts of Carter in 1892. Trinity played its first school cricket match against Royal College in 1893. In later years the school had fixtures with S. Thomas’, Ananda College, St. Benedict’s College, Dharmaraja College, Wesley College, St. Josephs College, St. Anthony’s College, Zahira College and Kingswood College. Trinity College was one of the oldest schools to play cricket before the Second World War.

TrinitySome of the top cricketers who played for them between 1900 and 2000 were Richard Aluwihare, C.E. Simithriarchchi, A. de Silva , C.E. de Silva, Harry Inman, E and R. Ondaatje, Percy Madugalle, Alfred Aluwihare, M.P. Kalopra, A.H.R. Joseph, Johnny Murray, P. Shockman, R. Halangoda, Robin Gibson, Philip Buultjens, R.B. Ettipola, F. Varooyen, H. Delwitta, V. Ludovici, K.B. Sangakkara, Eddie Bultjens, O.I. Izadeen, R. Breckenridge, Sammy David, T.B. Marambe, Bobby Schorman, C. Dharmalingam, V.C. Shockman, T.B. Weerapitiya, S. Pilapitiya and Frank Sirimanne, Nimal Maralande, Malsiri Kulakulasuriya, Jayantissa Ratwatte, Roger Abeyarathne, Harindra Dunuwille, Glen Vanlengenberg, Ajith Abeyratne, Nihal Marambe, Panduyka Aluwihare, T.P. Weerasuriya, Samantah Dodanwella, Praveen Ramanathan, Mevan Balalle, Denham Madena, Romesh Jayawardene, Nilantha Ratnayake, Chaminda Unnanthene, Ravi Ratnayeke, Kumar Sangakkara, Dudeepa Ratwatte, Chavi Wickremaratne, Akila Jayasundara, Sachin Pathirane, Roshan Munaweera, Mufthi Muneer, Clifford Fernando and Himesh Guantilake.

Leading the side this year is Raven Sayer a stylish right arm off spinner who has many wickets to his credit. He led the side last year. For the first time in Trinity’s cricket history, the school has appointed an acting captain. He is Nushan Weerasinghe a right hand stylish batsman. Sampath Perera, who gave his best as coach, has left half way through the season. His assistant Kavinda Jayasuriya has been appointed as coach. M.A.M. Dissanayake, who is very knowledgeable in the game, is the MIC while Shane de Silva is the POG.

Out of the 12 matches played to date, Trinity has recorded eight outright wins and three first innings wins. Two matched ended without a decision. The outright wins were against St. Aloysius, St. Anthony’s Wattala, De Mazenod Kandana, DS Senanayake, St. Servetius, Bandaranayake College, Dharmapala and Dharmaraja.

The big match against arch rivals St. Anthony’s College is scheduled for March 11-12 at Asgiriya with the one day encounter on March 19 at Katugastota.

Trinity College possesses a ground. They also have the facilities that some schools don’t have. This institute has a top class indoor net. All this underscores the fact that the boys must make maximum use of these facilities.

Trinity College squad: Raven Sayer (captain), Nushan K. Weerasinghe (Acting captain), Naveen Ekanayake, Savindu Amarasinghe, Sachita Gaminda, Lahiru Kumara, Tashila Dodanwala, Haritha Boyagoda, S. Shanugith, Dumindu Thilakarathna, Dilan Jayalath, Tisaru Dilshan, Tanka Chandrarathna, Yasaran Pitawala and Bathiya Dissanayake.