Cup Championship winners St. Peter’s play against Royal College at the Schools Rugby Sevens last year (File photo)

The first tournament in the 2016 Sri Lanka Schools Rugby Association (SLSRFA) calendar, the under-20 A Division Inter-school Rugby Sevens will be worked off on January 30 and 31 at the Royal College Sports Complex at Reid Avenue.

St. Peters College Bambalapitiya are the defending champions in this tournament. The Peterites under the leadership of Kevin ‘Kutty’ Dixon beat Isipathana College, skippered by Omalka Guneratne, 7-5 in the final last year. That year, the Peterites were coached by Scotish international Ben Macdougall while the ‘Green Shirts’ were coached by present Navy SC coach Nilfer Ibrahim.

GROUP A: St. Peter’s College, Wesley College and Vidyartha College

GROUP B: S. Thomas’ College, Dharmaraja College and St. John’s College.

GROUP C: Kingswood College, Zahira College and Lumbini College.

GROUP D: Trinity College, Prince of Wales College and St. Benedict’s College.

Group E: Science College, Ananda College, Royal Panadura and CWW Kannangara College.

GROUP F: DS Senanayake College, St. Joseph’s College and Maliyadeva College.

GROUP G: Royal College, Thurstan College and Mahanama College.

GROUP H: Isipathana College, Piliyandala Central and Lalith Athulathmudali College.