Sri Lanka’s visually handicapped cricket team who are participating in the first ever T/20 Asia Cup Cricket tournament for the blind made a good start by winning their first two matches at the Jawaharlal Nehru International Stadium in Kochi, India.

In their first game against Bangladesh played on January 19, Sri Lanka won by a comprehensive nine wickets.

Electing to bat first Bangladesh scored 129 runs for 8 wickets in 20 overs. Suranga Sampath captured two for 28 runs. Chandana Kumara also had figures of 2 for 35 runs. Sri Lanka replied with 130 runs for one wicket. Suranga Sampath scored 56 not out off 38 deliveries. Ruwan Wasantha scored 35 and Saman Kumara was unbeaten on 24.
Suranga Sampath was named man of the match.

Sri Lanka then beat Nepal by 137 runs the next day.
Sri Lanka scored 239 for just two wickets off 17 overs. C. Deshapriya top scored on 124 not out off just 62 balls. Saman Kumara (56) and Ruwan Karunathilaka, 25 not out, made useful runs.

Nepal could reply with only 102 runs for five wickets. D. Ravindra captured two wickets.
Chandana Deshapriya the vice captain of Sri Lanka team, was named man of the match.
In the third match against Pakistan Sri Lanka went down by 90 runs on January 21.
Pakistan scored 214 for 8 and Sri Lanka replied with 124 for 8 with Chandana Deshapriya scoring 36 runs. Ruwan Wasantha scored 33 runs.

Sri Lanka squad comprised: Chandana Deshapriya (Captain) D. Ravindra (Vice Captain), Chandana Suriaarachchi Chaminda Pushpakumar, Saman Kumara, Kosala Herath, D. Chaminda, Nuwantha Sudesh, Dimuthu Perera, Ruwan Karunathilaka, Kalum Lakmal, Upul Sanjeewa, D. Mathugama, K.B.R. Jayarathna, Suranga Sampath, A. Kalyana Kumara, Ruwan Wasantha, Ravi Perera – Umpire, Y. Sumanaweera – Coach, Lakshan Devapriya – Manager.