The squad: (front row from left): Cmdr Anil Bowatte (Manager), Rohan Sirisena (men’s captain), Rajiva Wijetunge (President TTASL), Ishara Madurangi (women’s captain), Jothipala Samaraweera (coach). (Middle row from left): Imasha de Silva (standby), Hansani Piumila, Erandhi Warusavithana, Ruvini Kannangara, Chamathsara Fernando. (back row from left) Nirmala Jayasinghe, Eranda Kumaratunga (fitness trainer), Dishantha Tennekoon (standby), Udaya Ranasinghe, Chameera Ginige, Prasad de Sliva (absent).

Sri Lanka has picked the best available team to participate at the 12th South Asian Games Table Tennis Championships to be held at the Jawaharlal Nehru Sports Complex in Shillong, India from February 6 to10.

The men’s and women’s teams comprise five national champions in the likes of Rohan Sirisena, Udaya Ranasinghe, Nirmala Jayasinghe(men) along with Ishara Madurangi and Earandi Warusavithana (women).

Although the Sri Lankan teams are in peak form and in good shape and capable of creating a few upsets, India are favourites to win the gold medals in almost all categories.
Coach Jothipala Samaraweera, who was national champion five times and ranked 9 in the Asian region and 33 in the world, has done a grand job of getting the squad into peak form.

Men: Rohan Sirisena (Captain), Udaya Ranasinghe, Nirmala Jayasinghe, Chameera Ginige, Prasad de Silva. (Standby) Dishantha Tennekoon.

Women: Ishara Madurangi (Captain), Ruvini Kannaangara, Erandi Warusavithana, Hansani Piumila, Chamathsara Fernando, (Standby) Imasha de Silva.

Coach: Jothipala Samaraweera. Manager: Cmdr. Anil Bowatte.